BOA Council

Overall governance of the BOA is exercised by a Council of 17 elected Trustees and 10 ex-officio members.

The Trustees comprise six Officers and 11 elected Council Members.

  • The six Officers – the Presidential Line (President, Immediate Past President, Vice President and Vice President Elect), the Honorary Secretary and the Honorary Treasurer are elected by Council
  • Trustee Council members are elected by postal ballot of all Home Fellows
  • The Trustees have voting rights; holders of ex-officio posts do not. The full Council in 2016 consisted of 30 members, some members serving in a dual capacity.

All new Trustees are issued with the Charity Commission booklet on their duties and responsibilities. They also receive a pack of briefing papers as recommended by the Charity Commission; are asked to sign the Trustees’ Conflict of Interest form; and to provide information for the Register of Interests. A more comprehensive Trustee induction process, including a presentation covering our full range of business and desk-side briefings by the BOA staff, has been put in place.

Council devolves designated responsibilities to a number of Committees, Subcommittees or Working Parties. Their chairs and members are appointed by Council on the recommendation of the Executive, normally following an open application process against job descriptions. The President, Vice President and Honorary Secretary are ex-officio members of all Committees.

Council Meetings

Council meets five times per year. The meeting dates for 2019 are as follows:

  • 20th February
  • 24th April
  • 12th June
  • 25th September
  • 11th December