Society for Back Pain Research (SBPR)

The Society for Back Pain Research was formed in 1971 to promote the study for all clinical and scientific aspects of spinal pain, including the neck and to encourage research into its causes, treatment and prevention. There are now over 200 members of the Society, form a wide range of disciplines, including clinicians such as Orthopaedic Surgeons, Rheumatologists, Neurologists and General Practitioners, basic scientists including Biochemists, Bio-engineers, Anatomists and Epidemiologists, as well as various other practitioners including Physiotherapists, Osteopaths and Chiropractors.

President: Mr Naffis Anjarwalla
Secretary: Mr Tony Bateman

Next SBPR Meeting: The next SBPR meeting will take place in 2021 at BritSpine. BritSpine will take place 17th-19th February 2021 at the SEC Centre, Glasgow. (

Administrative Contact: Deb McStrafick